Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Facebook Changes: Part 1

Last week Facebook unveiled extensive changes to their current platform. This post is the first in a series that will walk through changes we need to review to maintain our privacy, as well as educate ourselves about new sharing features.


Privacy
First things first. I'm all about privacy. The settings we chose for our privacy have not changed. However, there are new privacy features we need to be aware of, one in particular. To get to our Privacy Settings, click on the down arrow next to the word 'Home' in the top navigation bar. Click on 'Privacy Settings.'


The Privacy Settings page has a new look and features five categories of settings. Take a few moments to go through each one of them to ensure you know what you are sharing and who you are sharing it with.
The second category, 'How Tags Work,' is new. Review these settings because they determine how our photos are tagged and viewed.
Friends
After we are comfortable with our privacy settings, we're going to move on to Friends. We may have noticed that our News Feeds are clogged with all of our friends' activities, including comments they make, who they are friending, and even game activity which we may have previously hid. There are a few adjustments we need to make to calm the chaos.


Start by going to our personal wall. On the left side, we see a list of our friends. Click on the word 'Friends.'
This brings up a list of all of our friends. Let's mouse over the picture of the first friend in our list. As indicated in the photo above, a box appears. Mousing over the word Subscribe, offers a drop down menu. By default, we receive 'Most Updates' and all of the types of updates from every one of our friends. However, we can choose what information we want to get from each friend. This may vary by friend. And, the more friends we have, the longer it will take.


If, during this process, we decide to remove a friend or two (or 10 or 100), that's fine. Simply mouse over the word 'Friends' to the right of the friend we want to remove. A drop down box appears. Click 'Unfriend.' That's it. That person does NOT receive notification we have removed them. Although, if they are hanging on our every word, they may notice we are no longer in their News Feed.


To ask questions or participate in a discussion about this post, please visit www.facebook.com/lbspeaksonline. More to come in Part 2.